Wk11 – Artist – Vanessa Blaylock

by eunjoos

gthr3wge

This week’s artist of the week is Vanessa Blaylock. I, and I’m guessing some other students, was a little confused about this artist. Many people seemed to not think of her avatars as “art.” Yes, I agree, her “artwork” is unusual and different, but it doesn’t mean it is not art.
What she does seems like a lot of fun.I remember I would spend hours finding mods, and modding myself, for The Sims 2 to make characters and customize their appearance. I would also build houses and use the modded furniture to make the interior of the house look fancy and sleek. In any game that has a character customization page, I would spend hours just trying to make my character look cool, cute, or purposely ugly. Her artwork does lay in the realm of digital art and graphic design… which doesn’t make it any less of a piece of art.

What kind of shocked me about this week’s artist of the week was the discussion page on slack. There was a great debate of whether digital art or art made with a computer or other pieces of technology are considered art. I believe art made on the computer or any kind of platform or medium is still considered art. Even if you draw on the computer, there is still a great amount of skill involved. When I first drew on the computer, my artwork was…. not good. I will show you an example of when I first drew on the computer versus how I currently draw on the computer.

It takes a lot of time, skill, and learning to draw on the computer. It took a while for me to even get the hang of looking at a computer screen instead of looking at the piece of paper I was drawing on. I kind of get offended when people say digital art is not real art because I know how much time and patience it takes to draw on the computer. You need to learn the program as well as develop your own style and make your own brushes. It is frustrating and takes a great deal of time.

Here are some examples of digital artwork:

OKAY, off tangent… Let me get back to Vanessa Blaylock.


<p><a href=”https://vimeo.com/40629436″>N is for Net / Work</a> from <a href=”https://vimeo.com/vaneeesa”>Vanessa Blaylock</a> on <a href=”https://vimeo.com”>Vimeo</a&gt;.</p>

Here is an example of her artwork. She has posted many videos of her avatars on her vimeo account. Most of her videos are unusual and lack real content, but interesting. I can just say that her artwork in interesting, I have never seen anything like it before.

