Wk9 – Activity – Cuisine, Couture or Coiffure

by eunjoos

Hello everybody! I was really excited to do this activity because I got to cook. I rarely every cook… the closest to cooking I do is sticking things in the oven or putting boiling water in bowl ramen… So it was kind of fun and refreshing to cook using actual and fresh ingredients.

For this activity I cooked my favorite childhood dish: Vegan JAJANGMYEON… or black bean paste noodles.
It is a Korean style Chinese dish. I have never ever made this dish other than using instant packs from the Korean market. This time I bought actual ingredients and made it from scratch.
Usually this dish is made with pork but because I’m vegetarian I opted out of using meat. The ingredients for this dish is onions, potatoes, carrots, zucchini, vegetable oil, minced garlic, jajang noodles, water, and potato starch, and fermented black bean paste.
First what I did was cut all the vegetables into cubes and then stir fried them in vegetable oil and minced garlic.

After that you make the sauce with fermented black bean and potato starch and water until its a saucy kind of thickness and put it over the veggies after boiling them.
Next you want the boil the jajang noodles, which doesn’t really take that long. Rinse them with warm water and put the ingredients all together and mix and it’s ready to eat.

Of course add some side dishes!

I actually had a lot of fun with this. The most fun was buying the ingredients because I have never made this dish before. I asked a lot of the Korean mothers at the market if I had all the ingredients for jajangmyeon and they helped me so much.

